Sour Sasion

Wed Jun 27, 2012 5:42 am

I'm looking at brewing a sasion this weekend, splitting the 5 gallon batch, and souring half of it (WL Belgian Sour Mix). I plan on bottleing the sour batch, and the carboy is glass, so as not to spread those delicious bacteria. I have never done a sour before, and wondering if there is anything I'm missing? I plan on adding corriander, Orange peel zest, and maybe some peppercorn to the secondary's.
Also is there a way to do a split batch on Beersmith?
mrbubba213

Re: Sour Sasion

Wed Jun 27, 2012 6:13 am

Keep your plastic parts separate, so when you go to bottle, you'll want a sour beer racking/siphoning set up and bottling bucket, etc. As for split batches on BS, you can set it up as a 2.5 gallon batch and divide your ingredients between two recipe tabs, or leave it as one 5 gal batch and write in the notes tab for that recipe what you did to split it and ferment separately.
Spiderwrangler
PFC, Arachnid Deployment Division

In the cellar:
In the fermentor: Belgian Cider
In the works: Wooden Cider
spiderwrangler
Global Moderator

Wed Jun 27, 2012 9:58 am

Thank you sir. Also will the sour beer act like a normal sasion as far as the need to age it, or will it be ready when the FG is hit? I usually crash cool all my beers for a 3-7 days.

Sergeant BN Army, Michigan Division

Kegged: Citra Pale Ale
Primary: Sour Sgt. Pepper Sasion
Sgt. Pepper Sasion
Amber Lager
mrbubba213

Wed Jun 27, 2012 2:42 pm

Since the bugs may be able to finish out more things than your regular yeast, you may have a lower FG... it's done when it's done, and they typically develop more sour character over time.
Spiderwrangler
PFC, Arachnid Deployment Division

In the cellar:
In the fermentor: Belgian Cider
In the works: Wooden Cider
spiderwrangler
Global Moderator

Sun Jul 15, 2012 3:45 pm