Light Malts, Dark Malts and Honey

Thu Oct 13, 2005 5:41 am

Hiya,

I'm just a beginner. I am putting down my 5th brew on the weekend. I found a recipe that suggested the following:

Coopers Pale Ale
500g Light Malt Extract
250g Dextrose
250g Maltodextrin
(These three come in the Cooper Brew Enhancer 2 pack)
300g Honey

Fill to 19 litres.

What I'm not sure of is what the Malt adds to the flavour and how different types of malt add different flavours to a brew.

Can anyone give me a bit of advice on the subject of Malts.

Thanks.

Ozcah
Ozcah

Re: Light Malts, Dark Malts and Honey

Mon Oct 17, 2005 3:24 am

The LME is the only thing there that will have flavor.
Code: Select all
Dextrose, commonly called glucose, d-glucose, or blood sugar, occurs naturally in food, and is moderately sweet. It is a monosaccharide (basic unit of carbohydrates, C6H1206) and has a high glycemic index (digested carbohydrates ability to raise blood glucose levels, also called Gl) ranking at 100.

Code: Select all
Maltodextrin is a sweat, easily digested carbohydrate made from cornstarch. The starch is cooked, and then acid and/or enzymes (a process similar to that used by the body to digest carbohydrates) are used to break the starch into smaller chains (3-20 chains in maltodextrin). These chains are composed of several dextrose molecules held together by very weak hydrogen bonds.