storing filled kegs

Thu Aug 02, 2012 5:17 pm

So I have 2 ball lock kegs currently. both of which are full and in my extra fridge. One is getting near empty and I'd like to brew again.

I'm new to kegging but have been reading like crazy. What I'd like to know is if I brew and ferment a batch. Can I move it to a keg and store it in my basement after ferment. Do I need to carb it or refrigerate it to get it to keep. Will it keep fermenting in there. I know there will be a good amount of yeast still in it even after I pull it out of my carboy.

Someone educate me. Thanks in advance.
Munimula

Re: storing filled kegs

Thu Aug 02, 2012 6:27 pm

1) Don't keg it until it has finished fermenting.
2) It's fine to leave the keg outside the fridge, though in the fridge is better.
3) You should carbonate it so that you get a good seal on the lid & poppet valves. This prevents crap from getting in and also prevents your keg from getting misshapen due to lack of internal pressure. This can and does happen if you store cornies empty and with no pressure.
4) You'll need to crank the pressure up when carbonating warm. More gas will dissolve in a cold liquid than a warm liquid. Figure at least 30 psi if its around 70F. Check a carbonation pressure/temp chart to be sure.

HTH-
-B'Dawg
BJCP GM2 Judge
"Lunch Meat. It's an acquired taste....." -- Mylo
BDawg

Fri Aug 03, 2012 4:09 am

+1 on everything BDawg said, except *maybe* the note about the fridge being 'better'. Think about a keg as a really big bottle. Instead of capping it, you need positive CO2 pressure to seal it - you don't necessarily need to carb it perfect, but there must be some pressure. I err on the heavy side and just 'burp' it back down a day or two before putting it on tap.