Do turkey fryers make good brewpots?

Sun Mar 25, 2012 9:47 am

I have a 7.5gal turkey cooker that I was considering using for my brew pot. It is aluminum and has a built in in spigot. The burner is a 10psi.
Since I am a newbie to brewing on a budget I thought this might be a good option to start with. I will be doing 5gal extracts so I thought this would work well.
What are the negatives with using Aluminum versus a stainless steel :?:
Is a 10psi burner adequate for a 5gal boil :?:
Of beer and women I prefer not too bitter.
Keg #1; RyeLight Pale
Keg #2; Czech Casher Pils
RipCity

Re: Do turkey fryers make good brewpots?

Sun Mar 25, 2012 10:00 am

Turkey fryers are fine for brewing... the pot is a bit thin and taller than would be ideal, but it will do the job, and allow you to do all grain. Aluminum is fine, just make sure it's not oily inside if you've used it to fry. Most turkey fryers should have plenty of heat to get you up to boiling. (they do have to heat oil to 350F)

Do be aware that if you move to doing a full boil, that you won't have the same ability to use an ice bath to chill it if that's what you've been using. You would want to look into getting ahold of a wort chiller of some sort, which may go against the 'brewing on a budget' thing for now. You could always move outside and continue doing partial boils and save up for a better way to chill your wort if you don't have one already.
Spiderwrangler
PFC, Arachnid Deployment Division

In the cellar:
In the fermentor: Belgian Cider
In the works: Wooden Cider
spiderwrangler
Global Moderator

Sun Mar 25, 2012 10:20 am