Water heater element question

Sat Jul 24, 2010 8:41 pm

I'm thinking of upgrading my system in the near future. I currently do all grain in split batches on a stovetop. I was thinking of purchasing an electric turkey fryer as I want to stay indoors. I could then do 10 gal batches when I want to by utilizing my stove and the turkey fryer. Not optimal but it would work. Or...

I could buy one of these http://www.highgravitybrew.com/productc ... 2657&qty=1 The problem is they recomend the 4500 watt element because its stainless steel and ultra low density. However in order to use this element you need one of these
http://www.highgravitybrew.com/productc ... 6p3084.htm
otherwise you end up with a 20% evaporation rate.

This seems a little pricey to me. Is there a cheaper way to build one of these controllers with a potentiometer or rheostat or something? I'm not an electrician however my father in law is so I'm sure he could help me put something together.
Any Ideas?

Thanks
PB
Main Entry: zymurgist
Part of Speech: n
Definition: a scientist who studies the chemical process of fermentation in brewing and distilling; also, by extension, a brewer
Pharmbrewer

Re: Water heater element question

Sat Jul 24, 2010 8:53 pm

If you do not mind being the water temperature regulator, it could be just plug it into the 220V outlet in your garage and watch the temp yourself. that only costs some cable and plugs, assuming you already have a 220V outlet in your garage. Some safety guards in place of course. I use the Minibrew HLT and a 4500W element. BK is still propane fired though.
Conical Fermenter - Amber Lager
Keg#1 Dunkel
Keg#2 Helles
Keg#3 Flanders Red
Keg#4 Star San
Keg#5 Star San
Keg#6 Star San
Kbar

Sat Jul 24, 2010 9:36 pm