Filters: Canister vs. Plate

Tue Aug 21, 2012 6:30 pm

I've been brewing for a few years and kegging for most. I'm looking into gettting a filter for my brews. I know that the plate filter is a little more expensive, but thats fine by me. The canisters are supposed to be able to filter more than 5 gallon, I do 10 gallon batches so i'm leaning that way. any thoughts for someone who filters?
Cheers
LCBREW

Re: Filters: Canister vs. Plate

Tue Aug 21, 2012 8:11 pm

Also consider the price of filter media. To take out proportion haze and get clear beer you'll need about 0.5 micron filter size.

Kai
Kaiser

Wed Aug 22, 2012 12:52 am

I have a canister one and have some issues with oxidation until I changed the way I use it. Make sure you also consider your filtering process.

Suck it!

love

g
"in the land of the blind, the one eyed man is king"....a person not quite as plastered as the rest (not a quote by RSM grod of the BN Army)
grod

Wed Aug 22, 2012 4:14 am

I'd think long and hard before I invested money in a filter. There is no question that bright beer looks really nice in the glass and there is no question that you will have to wait a long time to get a clear Kölsch, for example, if you don't filter but what a PITA! I got a plate filter as part of a system and I have used it once. If you don't want your polish filter to load up 1/4 of the way through the batch you need to do coarse filtering first etc. I had previously fiddled with cartridge filters. Mess, expense, loss of carbonation and loss of beer were my main rewards (but the beer I got was beautiful). There is also some loss of flavor and mouthfeel as some protein globules get picked up.

Interestingly enough one of the things I found when I got religion on controlling mash pH was that my beers (lagers) dropped clear faster.