Fly vs Batch Sparging?

Wed Aug 16, 2006 11:12 pm

I am relatively new to homebrewing and I am seeking advice on the different methods of sparging the mash. I have heard that batch sparging can increase brewhouse efficency. What are the techniques that you use for those of you who are into all grain mashing on fully modified grains? I am using a "Zapap" home made lauter-tun made from a couple of 5 gal plastic buckets. What techniques for sparging would those of you in the forum use for this kind of system?

Thank you in advance for your replies.
Know God and know peace, No God in your life, then perhaps no peace. Read Ecclesiastes 7:13-20

Cheers!
IroPino Doc
IroPino

Re: Fly vs Batch Sparging?

Thu Aug 17, 2006 3:48 am

IroPino wrote:I am using a "Zapap" home made lauter-tun made from a couple of 5 gal plastic buckets. What techniques for sparging would those of you in the forum use for this kind of system?

That will depend on whom you ask. Such a system (true false bottom as opposed to manifold or SS screeen/braid) is suited for both batch and fly sparging.

I'd do batch sparging as it is known to be more reliable in terms of efficiency and takes less time. But eventually you will have to figure this out yourself.

Kai
Kaiser

Thu Aug 17, 2006 4:45 am

Ok I'm gonna weigh in on this whole thing, NOTE THIS IS PURELY CONJECTURE AND OPPINION.