Losing Sourness over Time - Flanders Red / Berliner Weisse

Sat Jul 11, 2015 5:04 pm

I brew a lot of sour beer, I've been brewing them for 6 or 7 years, and most have come out very well. In the last year or so, I've had two different batches turn out great, but later start to LOSE sourness (after 4-6 months in the keg). I've googled like crazy with no luck, so I figured I'd throw it out to you guys.

My suspicion is that there's a bug or enzyme that's turning lactic acid into Ethyl Lactate or something similar. I'm getting a HUGE increase in pineapple aroma. These are kegged, kept cold, and under pressure, so I can't imagine it's a problem with oxygen exposure. I was thinking Ethyl Acetate for a why, but while the pineapple is getting very strong, and it's a tad bit solventy, there's not a strong nail polish remover aroma which I've noticed for beers I've had aging with too much headspace. Those get dumped immediately. These, while the pineapple is too strong, aren't off-putting like the Ethyl Acetate beers are.

If anyone has any ideas, I'd love to hear them. The Red still tastes great, but the Berliner just isn't cutting it. It was very sour and refreshing when it first went on tap, but now it's almost like drinking straight pineapple juice, but maybe less tart than juice even.
drummerguysteve

Re: Losing Sourness over Time - Flanders Red / Berliner Weis

Sat Jul 11, 2015 8:16 pm

First, welcome to the forum.

I'm not much on the chemistry of sours. I'm sure someone else will chime in on this.
-B'Dawg
BJCP GM3 Judge & Mead
"Lunch Meat. It's an acquired taste....." -- Mylo
BDawg

Sun Jul 12, 2015 6:12 am

BDawg wrote:First, welcome to the forum.

I'm not much on the chemistry of sours. I'm sure someone else will chime in on this.

Steve, I don't think anyone is. They've been around forever, but the gurus are just starting to look into what's really going on. In fact, I think just a few years from now we'll all be laughing at what we thought was fact.