1968 tips & suggestions?

Sun Feb 22, 2015 9:21 am

I'm going to brew a Lagunitas [CENSORED] clone tomorrow and I'm using Wyeast 1968. This is my first time using this yeast and I'm starting to get a little concerned. I made a 1.75L starter Friday morning and it took off like a rocket. I used 2 smack packs and 1.75L wort + yeast nutrient and antifoam. I am brewing a 12 gallon batch and hoping to have an OG of 1.071. What is in my Erlenmeyer right now looks like a sloppy batch of watered down cottage cheese. I think this is normal for the strain but I am concerned that I need a bigger pitch, as this looks like it will floculate quickly and fall out. I want to make sure it gets the job done before it all takes a nap at the bottom of the fermenter. I can run out and grab another smack pack today if I need to. I would appreciate any comments or suggestions. I don't want to dry the beer all the way out, but I don't want to be left with a stuck ferment.

Thank you for your support! :jnj
"The word unblowupable is tossed around a lot these days..."
Homer Simpson
bazookazilla

Re: 1968 tips & suggestions?

Sun Feb 22, 2015 1:53 pm

Cottage cheese is quite normal for that yeast. It's fine.
Just go with it. It'll work.
You may need to swirl it up, but if you aerate well (90 secs of O2 in a 5 gallon batch) you'll be fine.
If you are really concerned, if you have an ancient pack of dry yeast that's been sitting in your fridge, go ahead and throw it into the boil. Yes, I said throw it into the BOIL. It's a great way to rotate out your "just in case" yeast and it makes a fantastic yeast nutrient.
Of course, if you have actual yeast nutrient, throw that in instead.

HTH-
-B'Dawg
BJCP GM3 Judge & Mead
"Lunch Meat. It's an acquired taste....." -- Mylo
BDawg

Sun Feb 22, 2015 2:21 pm