BrewCraftUSA kit question....? Or any extract kit question..

Sat Sep 28, 2013 8:16 am

Okay, since I am new to this and this will be my first brew I have a few questions.
Here we go...just to get this one out of the way! :asshat:

LOL

I have a 10.5 gallon SS brew pot. The instructions for the kit state to use 3 gallons for the process, and then add water to the fermenter later to bring it up to 5 gallons once you have finished the boil and chill process.

My question is this:

Can I do a full boil so I don't have to add the water later if I already have a pot large enough for a full boil? I think I would need about 7 gallons or so due to evaporation...correct? Then this should leave me with around 5 gallons of wort. Is it not the same difference as adding the water later?

I don't think it would dilute the wort or ruin it...correct?

Just curious, might be a stupid question, but I think the instructions are for people that brew on the stove. I have spent a shit ton of money getting started...around $500 on all kinds of shit to be ahead of the game and to try to do it right the first time.
Fermenter: Honey Wheat Ale high ABV "from scratch" (Primary Fermentation Stage) Brewed 10/20/13
In Bottles: Kit Beer (American Pale Ale Wheat Beer)
TheHamNerd

Re: BrewCraftUSA kit question....? Or any extract kit questi

Sat Sep 28, 2013 8:45 am

Yes, do a full boil. Those instructions will make beer, but they're not very good instructions for someone like yourself (judging from your QRZ pic; I'm a Yaesu guy too & I know how we tend to think - nice rig btw)