Making Lager Styles With Ale Yeast?

Mon Nov 02, 2015 9:30 am

Hey guys! I'm new to the forum and a new home brewer and loving it! I spent the summer and fall learning about the process and helping out a friend with his home brew. I want to make some lager style beers (oktoberfest, dopplebock) but don't have the equipment for temperature controll or the money or space to buy it... (I am a college student in Florida so temperature control has been a struggle so far.) Any way I wanted to know if any of you guys have made lager styles using ale yeast, and how its come out. My friend uses Kolsch Yeast from White Labs and his beer is really good! Thanks guys and happy brewing!
Cpt Dunbar

Re: Making Lager Styles With Ale Yeast?

Mon Nov 02, 2015 3:43 pm

First off, welcome to the forum!

What is the coldest possible temp you can ferment the beer at during winter time where you live? Would you consider using a swamp cooler which consists of placing your fermenter in a large plastic tub filled with water and swapping out frozen water bottles a few times a day to keep fermentation temps cooler? If so, then this might be able to help you get low enough to ferment a proper lager.

If you can even get it down to 60F (which I bet you easily could with this method) then you may want to consider using a hybrid strain of yeast that ferments fairly clean at this temp for a "pseudo" lager. Strains like WY 2112 California lager, WL 810 san francisco lager, WY 2565 kolsch and WL 029 german ale strains might get you in the ball park if temps are kept cool and maintained. I would probably choose the first two vs the last two for an even cleaner profile as I feel the WY 2565 is slightly fruity.

Even using the classic Chico ale strain WL 001 or WY 1056, or dry strain US-05 can be fermented fairly cool 55-60F for a pretty clean and neutral beer. Good luck and let us know what you decide on.
"A bad man is a good man's job, while a good man is a bad man's teacher."
brewinhard