Another Kegging Question

Thu Sep 21, 2017 8:33 am

Ok i am fairly new to brewing with perhaps 20, 5 gallon batches made. I switched to kegging about 6 to 10 batches back but i am still hounded by a Taste defect in my beer. I can only describe the taste as a kind of flatness i perceive at the end of a drink of beer. I have assumed this might be a oxidation issue and have taken steps to try to eliminate it from my latest batch,but the problem is still there. So i found out i was HOT Side Aerating my wort by placing the chiller in at ten minutes to end of boil ,but then using a mix/stir wand on a drill to stir the wort somewhat aggressively as soon as the flame was off. I eliminated that on my last batch but i have noticed something in my kegging setup that may be the culprit. So last batch was 5.5 gallons in a BUCKET fermenter,which i placed in the fridge for 4 days after fermentation was complete still in the Bucket,i do not think this would have caused much oxidation do you folks? so then i racked it to a purged corny keg and placed it under 30 psi for 2 days . Now i will say my corny has a small leak around the opening, as for instance i set the psi at 30 come back and its at 25 so i crank it back to thirty. At 2 days i purged the co2 and cranked the psi down to 5 psi which is my serving pressure. I sampled a drink and it was well carbed so i left the psi at 5, come back a day later and psi was at zero,so cranked it back to 5 ,psi. so my question is now if the psi does go to 0 ie no pressure in tank could this possibley be an oxidation issue. And isnt the regulater supposed to Automatically keep the pressure at the pre set.Now my regulater is one that has a Grey knob i pull out to adjust then push back in,and i have just been leaving it pulled to the adjust position, is this wrong? Should i have to push it back in? Any help would be Welcome :jnj
davemo

Re: Another Kegging Question

Thu Sep 21, 2017 9:30 am