Sanitizing gas lines when kegging and bottling.

Wed Nov 09, 2016 4:57 am

Hey guys,

I have been purging with CO2 and kegging for only a few months and have seen a big improvement in the longevity of my bottled beers and kegs.

Does anyone else sanitize all their gas lines before purging and kegging?

I am a little unsure whether it is necessary as it never comes into contact with beer or other liquids, however the yeasts and bacteria in the air may be an issue.
Beerbrain

Re: Sanitizing gas lines when kegging and bottling.

Thu Nov 10, 2016 5:45 am

While I have done this a before it is not necessary. That said it can't hurt. I do error on the side of cleaning a gas line before first use, but I don't think that is necessary either.
If you got beer in your gas line you should defiantly clean it. Just make sure you always have your gas on before you hook up to a keg or you may get a gas line full of beer. This happens because the keg has more pressure than the line. Back pressure pushes into the void of pressure in the line.
barleyboy

Thu Nov 10, 2016 12:38 pm

I sanitize my gas lines the first time I connect them to quick disconnects and the tank. Just to be safe and sure, although I am anal when it comes to sanitation.

I always sanitize my gas line for my beer gun too when bottling beers from the keg. Once again, just to rule out any variable that might screw up my beer.

With that being said, I don't think its necessary, but it is so easy to do, so why not?
"A bad man is a good man's job, while a good man is a bad man's teacher."
brewinhard
Global Moderator

Thu Nov 10, 2016 1:28 pm

Thanks for your input guys.

I like the 'better safe than sorry' attitude. It does require a little more work, but it's got to be worth it right?

Cheers.
Beerbrain

Thu Nov 10, 2016 9:54 pm

Beerbrain wrote:Thanks for your input guys.

I like the 'better safe than sorry' attitude. It does require a little more work, but it's got to be worth it right?

Cheers.