why is everyone afraid of sanke kegs for homebrew

Mon May 12, 2014 10:27 pm

I'm brand new to homebrewing. Call me unconventional, but I skipped bottles/corny and went straight to sanke kegs. If you have a commercial kegerator system I don't see the point of corny kegs. If I had one I would use it as a reservoir help to clean the sanke. There's really no need to open sanke kegs and its not that hard to open them anyway(it's just a retaining ring). 180° Pbw and star san handle the cleaning. You can use co2, a garden sprayer, water pump, or vacuum pump to move the solutions in and out through a coupler with the one ways removed... Using as directed...Agitate them... Voila, clean/purged kegs. I use a two hole carboy cap with a ss racking cane in one hole and and plumb co2 to the other. Then I rack from the glass carboy directly into the keg, virtually eliminating any chance of contamination or oxygenation. I bought mine for $90 brand new for a 1/6bbl. And you can get 1/4, 1/3, or 1/2bbl for not much more. (Or $20 if you are a damn thief) The used corny was about $65 plus fittings. So really, why the corny?

Homebrew shop told me I would have to use a $10000 automatic commercial keg sanitizing system. I think this works just fine.

Thoughts?
frink

Re: why is everyone afraid of sanke kegs for homebrew

Tue May 13, 2014 3:44 am

I think they are taboo because homebrewers are fairly honest people until they see a keg.
I use sanke kegs. They are great.
Effingbeer

Tue May 13, 2014 4:59 am

Corny's used to be much, much, much cheaper. 5 years ago the idea of a $65 Corny was insane - if you shopped around you could get 2 of them for that price. I think that was 90% of why they're popular in homebrewing. Also Sankey's used to be more pricey, especially for the 1/6bbls. 1/2bbls were cheaper than the 1/6th bbls. $90 brand new is a pretty good price. I seem to remember them being closer to the $120-130 range.