Weird keg issue....

Thu Jul 12, 2012 9:14 am

So I have been kegging beer for about 8 years now and have NEVER had this happen to me before. Wanted to run it by people here to see if anyone had any insight into this problem.

About 5 weeks ago I kegged a Bohemian Pilsner and stuck it in my fridge to lager at 35F. Last week I put it on gas to about 22 PSI to carb it up. After 4 days I checked the pressure and the beer was not carbonated at ALL (some wispy head bubbles but that was it). So as usual, I checked for leaks in my in/out posts, lid/o-ring, pressure relief valve and gas regulator connection. No signs of any leaks anywhere.

So I turned up the gas to 30PSI for two days to see what would happen thinking that the beer would have to be even just a bit more carbonated than before. Well....

Here is the wierd part - when I went to relieve the pressure from the keg there was obviously a huge gas release (which told me the keg wasnt leaking). Then when I poured a glass to check the carbonation level, it was EXACTLY the same as before - no carbonation.
So I put the gas back on it for 30PSI for two more days. Checked it again and no increase in carbonation.

I finally decided to roll the keg with the gas on it and see if that would help and lo and behold 3 minutes later the beer was finally carbonated! WTF is going on here? I have never had this issue before. Anyone have any clue as to what is going on?
"A bad man is a good man's job, while a good man is a bad man's teacher."
brewinhard
Global Moderator

Re: Weird keg issue....

Thu Jul 12, 2012 10:36 am

Beer level above the bottom of the gas tube?
jimmiec

Thu Jul 12, 2012 11:22 am

Good thinking, but no. I would think that the beer would still carbonate as I would be directly injecting CO2 into solution then. And besides there was definitely gas in the headspace above the beer level.
brewinhard
Global Moderator

Thu Jul 12, 2012 11:42 am