How much sugar can you feed to a fermentation

Sat Jan 16, 2016 8:53 am

So I was thinking about taking one of my regular brews and then splitting the ferment toward the end of fermentation and feed the split portion (maybe a couple gallons) with some simple sugar to make a "surprise, you're hammered" version of the 3-4% beers I usually make.

The big question in my head is, how much can I feed it. I was thinking I could do a slow feed by filling a condiment squirt bottle (see below) with a sugar solution and then just put that upside down on the opening of the carboy and let it slowly drip in and feed the yeast more sugar.

But how much can I feed it before things start going south? I haven't done the belgian late sugar feeding thing before, so I have no experience with it.
BN Army : Cannon Fodder Division

"Risk of failure should be no deterrent to trying"
NateBrews

Re: How much sugar can you feed to a fermentation

Sat Jan 16, 2016 9:19 am

It's going to depend on the strain. Different strains have varying amounts of alcohol tolerance. IIRC both White Labs & Wyeast publish that info on their respective sites. Aim for just under that stat.
Lee

"Show me on this doll where the internet hurt you."

"Every zoo is a petting zoo if you man the fuck up."

:bnarmy: BN Army // 13th Mountain Division :bnarmy:
Ozwald
Global Moderator

Sat Jan 16, 2016 9:26 am

I guess my bigger concern is more when the flavors are going to start getting screwed up from the additional yeast activity from the sugar. Usually I use 1968 which will probably poop out at 9-10%. Adding another 1% ABV to the beer with sugar wouldn't be a big deal, but could I do 4% (doubling) and still have it not taste like there is something wrong in there. I want the alcohol to hide, so tasting like a big alcohol bomb would be no good.

NateBrews

Sun Jan 17, 2016 5:46 pm