Funky Fruit...

Sat Jul 28, 2012 3:42 pm

I brewed up 12 gallons of an "blonde wheat" recipie I found online that looked ok.

I should warn you there are about 8 million variables that could have caused what I'm about to describe so I understand if you guys can't pin down my issue.

As mentioned I did 12 gallons with my randomly collected new setup doing a brew in a bag method. I fermented all of it for 8 days at 66F with White labs Pacific Ale yeast (don't know the number).

I kegged half the batch and carbed it. It is drinkable and is improving everyday. The 2nd half the batch I was racked on 6 pounds of fresh picked bing cherries that I had stewed for about 20-25 mins to kill off the bugs. I got a pretty healthy burst of renewed fermentation which I assume is from the sugar in the cherries.

The Non cherry is fantastic and I'd pay money for it. The cherry batch however has NO head and tastes a bit off. I'm very new to brewing and don't know exactly what I'm tasting but as its been described many times as "buttered popcorn" I think its diacytal. (sp?)

Any thoughts are appreciated. I've got 5 gallons of excellent beer and 5 gallons of drinkable but not so hot cherry.
Munimula

Re: Funky Fruit...

Sun Jul 29, 2012 4:01 am

If it is diacetyl, it could be the result of packaging before the yeast had a chance to finish it's work on the DA and other compounds remaining in the beer, or possibly a Pediococcus or other bacterial infection. Also, if you added cherries with the pits, some brewers report getting a flavor contribution from the pits themselves, often described as almondy, not sure if this could be what you are tasting.
Spiderwrangler
PFC, Arachnid Deployment Division

In the cellar:
In the fermentor: Belgian Cider
In the works: Wooden Cider
spiderwrangler
Global Moderator

Sun Jul 29, 2012 4:41 am