Not sure what I am doing here. Hi

Wed Jul 20, 2016 12:34 pm

Hey BN!

First off I have zero experience brewing, but I love beer (IPAs, Porters, Sours) and recently found myself looking for something to keep busy and it led to this site.

It all started a few days when a friend gave me a cooler after helping her move. Being the frat thing to do I decided I was going to strip the cooler, sand it, and paint it. I didn't want to have a cooler like everyone else so I started doing some research, which led to my discovery of Jockey Boxes. Wanting something to hold my beer and keep it cold was cool, but something that can dispense it as well, even better right? 8) After some later research I discovered they in fact do not hold beer, rather dispense it at a nice cold temperature. Since I already spent the money and have the cooler ready for paint I decided to just move forward with the situation and make this the start of my beerjourney.

At this point I plan to finish up the Jockey Box and get any remaining regulators, co2, hoses, etc so that I can finish that project. In the mean time I plan to do dabble in all the wonderful information here about brewing, and maybe even order a starter kit.

Looking forward to joining the community :jnj
mbonanni

Re: Not sure what I am doing here. Hi

Wed Jul 20, 2016 7:46 pm

Welcome-

Yes, you are right, Jockey Boxes only hold cooling coils for the beer to pass through and cool down on their way from keg to glass.

There is a wealth of knowledge here so ask away. We can help you with any question regarding brewing and dispensing beer (and other fermentables such as cider and mead).
-B'Dawg
BJCP GM3 Judge & Mead
"Lunch Meat. It's an acquired taste....." -- Mylo
BDawg

Sun Jul 24, 2016 12:17 pm